Family X-Country Road Trip

Old May 29th, 2007, 04:49 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Family X-Country Road Trip

Hi - I'm new to any forums but have enjoyed reading the posts here on Fodors. Our family of six is taking a road trip from the east coast to the west coast and back. We have our itinerary planned - all but the section from San Francisco, CA to Jackson Hole, WY. Could anyone tell me if it's worth driving straight through (mapquest says about 14 hours) vs. stopping somewhere along the way? We're not too interested in Reno or Salt Lake City but maybe somewhere for hot springs? Or should we take the 14 hour plunge and have more time in the Tetons? Any information would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old May 29th, 2007, 06:56 PM

In my opinion, there's no reason to force a 14-hour driving day upon yourselves during a long roadtrip, especially since the last part is non-Interstate and pretty mountainous.

Stop in Idaho Falls or before, and arrive next morning instead.
Old May 29th, 2007, 09:42 PM

That 14 hour plunge means you're going to be driving 75 mph for all of the Interstate driving. It also does NOT allow for gas, pit or eatting stops. The last part of the route will be mountain driving...at the end of a LONG HARD day. I highly recommend stopping at Twin Falls and not kill yourselves or the 5 other passangers.

The drive from Twin Falls to Jackson is more on the scenic side as you follow the Snake River.

Utahtea
Old May 30th, 2007, 05:32 AM
Original Poster

Thanks so much - it seems to be a different drive than our treck through Kansas. =) So ... should we stop in Elko, Twin Falls, or somewhere else? Any ideas??? Thanks again!
Old May 30th, 2007, 06:41 AM

Definitely not like your drive through Kansas. I'd second Twin Falls. That puts you more than half way and should make for an earlier arrival in Jackson. It's been a long time since I've been to Elko, but my recollection is that I'd much rather stay in Twin Falls than Elko.