Reload this Page >

Del Coronado or Catamaran?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 25th, 2003, 04:59 AM
blpar

I'm taking my 20 yr old daughter to San Diego in March and would like to spend 2 nights on the beach since it will be her first trip to the west coast. Which location would be best, the Del or the Catamaran?

Old Feb 25th, 2003, 05:10 AM
jasper

thats easy. the del. you won't regret it!

Old Feb 25th, 2003, 05:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The Del. There's nothing more charming.
Old Feb 25th, 2003, 06:20 AM

I have to agree...the Del. Wonderful place! Be sure to get a room in the old building...the new one is across the parking lot.
Old Feb 25th, 2003, 09:50 PM

Please tell me what is so nice about Hotel Del?
Granted it's got a nice beach location but it's old. I've had no great experiences with old hotels, from the Westin St. Francis is San Francisco to the Sheraton Moana Surfrider in Waikiki.

What is the draw?
Old Feb 26th, 2003, 04:01 PM

I second the ? about the del.
Maybe it's for antique lovers.
Old Feb 26th, 2003, 06:07 PM

Well for one it's got a nice great big pool and deck for people watching- something a 20 year old could get into. The biggest widest beach in San Diego. And a nice quaint town that is arguably the safest place in San Diego. The towers section have bigger rooms but the Del isn't a luxurious hotel roomwise- the rooms are more B&B style-smaller and antiquated.

Coronado is not the the party place that PB/MB is - where the Catamaran is located- but you probably don't want to party with your daughter. The PB/MB boardwalk is a better place to people watch but the Catamaran is a couple notches below the Del in terms of the niceness of the surrounding area (it's accross the street from a Hooters), the grounds, and even the hotel itself. I've had friends check out after a day because they didn't feel the Cat was "nice enough".
Old Feb 27th, 2003, 07:34 AM
ltt