Notices

country bumpkin needs nyc help

Old Oct 29th, 2002, 05:50 AM
gracie

country bumpkin needs nyc help

We are driving from Nebraska to New York City next April (due to family member's medical restrictions) and are staying on the upper west side. Although we've been to New York many times before (9 times in the past 6 years), we've never driven before. I'm a very good driver (sound like Dustin Hoffman in Rainman "Kmart sucks"), and have poured over my maps. We will be entering Manhattan via the George Washington Bridge and then heading down to the hotel. Are there any turns, restrictions, driving tips I need to know about regarding the bridge, etc? We are staying at the Excelsior Hotel. Does anyone know of any good/reasonably priced parking in the area? And one last question: we always go to several broadway shows when we're in NYC. This will be the first time we won't be staying in midtown (too difficult to park in I was told). After the shows get out, is it safe to take the subway back up to the hotel? Are cabs difficult to get at that hour? Any help you can provide would be appreciated. I really am a good driver, so if you see a SUV with Nebraska plates next April: DON'T BE AFRAID!! Thanks in advance!

Old Oct 29th, 2002, 06:55 AM
tweedy

You shouldn't have a problem finding the hotel, when you get off the bridge, get on the Henry Hudson downtown and take the exit closest to the hotel. There are several parking garages in the immediate area, I would ask the hotel if they have any agreements with garages in the area for discounts.

After the theatre you can take the subway or a bus uptown and it's pretty safe, there will be lots of people on the street. If you take the bus you will also get a little tour of the city up Broadway.

Have a great time while you are here.

Old Oct 29th, 2002, 07:15 AM
xxx

Gracie, is it one of the big SUV's? The gargages that are covered and not lots, will have an SUV/Minivan surcharge.

Old Oct 29th, 2002, 07:31 AM
Anthony