Copyrighting Vacation Photos

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 25th, 2007, 11:24 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no professional photographer, but I believe I have at least a few good shots from my recent vacation to Hawaii.

I have seen a couple of people on this board that have copyrighted their pics and suggested that others do it.

How do you go about it and is it alot of trouble for nothing?

I would really like to hear from people that do it.

Mahalo,
Belle
Old May 25th, 2007, 11:33 AM

Technically and legally, anything on the internet is copyrighted -- there is no need to do anything. That's the good news.

The bad news is that there is practically no way to enforce it, since you have no way to know if someone copied them to another site [which happens all the time]or prints them etc etc.

Honestly, don't worry about it and feel complimented that someone likes your photos enough to use them. Don't lose any sleep over this as for an amateur posting photos on website of a vacation aren't likely to be lifted. Professional stuff is another matter, but even that is hard to detect when it has been lifted. Chance of every knowing are slim next to none.
Debi
Old May 25th, 2007, 11:40 AM
Original Poster

Thanks Deb - You doing OK?? Back home yet??
Old May 25th, 2007, 11:40 AM

I am a professional photographer, and I do put my images (low resolution) on the web. I know that there is no way I can stop someone from lifting pictures from the web, but I do embed my name/copyright notices in them so people can clearly see them. I've noticed that many people from MySpace use them without alteration - and since my copyright notice includes my website URL, I also get free advertising of a sort!