Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Considering moving to Florida... any opinions?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 23rd, 2012, 12:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey there! My fiance and I are 28 & 24 (respectively) and currently live in Corpus Christi, Texas. We're considering moving to Florida after August. He is an emergency room RN and my degree is basically in marine science. There really aren't any jobs here for me, and neither of us want to stay here forever (or much longer than, well, August). I know the unemployment rate is about 3% higher in Florida than here, but more jobs that involve my degree are also open there. It's not a huge deal if I can't find a job right away--he can support us pretty well on his salary right now.

We were thinking about moving to either Tampa or Miami, though more likely Tampa. Would anyone have any opinions on good (or not-so-good) areas of each city to live in? We could also consider moving a bit further out of town (Clearwater, St. Pete, etc).

Also, Florida is the same as Texas tax-wise, correct? You guys don't pay grocery taxes or state income taxes? Is there anything else we should know about moving to Florida?
Old Feb 23rd, 2012, 12:59 PM