Best to live - Sedona Scottsdale or Santa Fe

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 11th, 2005, 10:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am actually looking to try living in all three, but want to buy a house in one while I can still afford it. Preferably the one I will end up living in for a long chunk of time. I am 51, single, fashionable, and love traveling (of course being a Fodorite), the arts, and great scenery. I'm currently working in state gov't and have a degree in communications but 1/2 way thru my Masters in Mental Health Counseling so one of the places might be a better bet than another in terms of career once I have my degree. I want to go into private practice. I'm looking for a cultural experience that isn't so bland, white bread, Mickey-D ized. Any comments?
Old Aug 11th, 2005, 11:35 AM

Based on all you have said I would choose Santa Fe. Scottsdale is definetly fashionable but I think the cultural experience there would be more bland. I am assuming you have visited all places. Which place sings to you? For me, it would be Santa Fe!!
Old Aug 11th, 2005, 12:24 PM
LN

I think you've said it!!!

"I'm looking for a cultural experience that isn't so bland, white bread, Mickey-D ized."

Santa Fe - it's probably the highest cost but I think it has what Sedona and scottsdale do NOT have.
Old Aug 11th, 2005, 01:43 PM
Original Poster

Actually Sedona takes my breath away and makes my heart beat faster. I feel the spiritual energy. But I feel it in Santa Fe also and think there might be more social opportunities and job opportunities than in Sedona. Sedona is also pretty much out of my price range for a house right now.
Old Aug 11th, 2005, 02:30 PM

Santa Fe is pretty expensive, but given the heat in Arizona, that would be my first choice as well. Four seasons, a diverse population, state government offices out the wazoo and opportunitites to pursue your counseling career as well.

Lee Ann
Old Aug 12th, 2005, 05:35 AM
Original Poster