best airport for sonoma valley

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 8th, 2007, 07:03 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm flying from chicago. Which airport would be closest and/or easiest to get to sonoma? thanks for your help
Old Jun 8th, 2007, 07:14 AM

Recently used SFO to get to Sonoma. The airport is a pain in the a$$ with a slow train to the rental cars and a ridiculously confusing maze of tunnels though parking garages to get to/from trains. Lots of logjams at elevators (we carried our luggage up/down stairs to avoid). Driving through the city was also one long logjam. Driving over the Golden Gate was pretty neat though and once across, traffic was no issue (Sat afternoon).

If I had to do it over again, I'd probably try Sacramento, but I have no experience with that airport.
Old Jun 8th, 2007, 07:23 AM

Sacramento is very easy.
Old Jun 8th, 2007, 07:25 AM

Or OAkland. Travel time is about teh same by car from Sacramento and OAkland...
Old Jun 8th, 2007, 08:17 AM

Alaska Airlines now flies into Santa Rosa from LA and Seattle.
Old Jun 8th, 2007, 07:48 PM

Oakland may be doable, but I am not sure it is easiest to get to Sonoma.

Sacramento is furthest away.

Santa Rosa and Sacramento, I think, would be more expensive.

I don't understand Brian's problem. We fly all the time out of SFO. Perhaps he is used to smaller airports. We often rent a car from our home (70 miles form SFO) and drop it off rather than pay parking fees, and then pick up a car to come home. Cheaper in the long run.

We have not run into a "slow" train to rental cars....well....it takes awhile because it is a large airport, after all, but not more than half an hour.

"Confusing maze of tunnels through parking garages to get to/from trains". He just didn't have the right directions.