Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Are we crazy? Drive from DC to NYC--advice needed

Old Jul 4th, 2009, 08:18 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My sister and I are taking my niece to visit colleges in NYC and Philadelphia. We, like most folks in DC, usually take Amtrak to NYC, but because of the stopover in Phila. and the fact that there are three of us, we are considering driving. Valet parking at our hotel in NYC is about $45 per night (we'll be there two nights), but train tix for all three will be at least $600 with the split ticket. I know NYC traffic is a nightmare, but DC's not for sissies either and I'm a good city driver. Are we insane or can we drive to NYC?
Old Jul 4th, 2009, 08:23 PM

Philly is 1/2 to 2 hours from NYC. Other posters know the URl for garages in Manhattan.

Basically you are going to enter the city, find the hotel and park. You are not going to make deliveries or drive a cab.

In the alternative what about the Megabus?
Old Jul 5th, 2009, 12:00 AM