Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

1st Trip to Hawaii...Looking to Relax...Kauai??

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9th, 2004, 08:02 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am thinking of planning a surprise trip for my husband for our 10th wedding anniversary in early December. We would only be able to go for probably 5 days/4 nights and would be on a limited budget. I have been reading about the trips to Kauai and wonder how much the condos normally run per night? I am looking mostly to just get away from it all and RELAX away from the kids/work/etc. My husband loves the outdoors, so I think Kauai sounds like a good place to visit. Any suggestions on where to start? We have not traveled at all, so I am an extreme novice.

Thank You!
Tammy
Old Sep 9th, 2004, 08:19 AM

Hi Tammy,
Kauai is beautiful. However, if you are located anywhere further than the extreme west coast, it is too quick of a trip. I think United offers direct service from L.A, otherwise you may have to connect through HNL, which takes more time. There are many condos and B&Bs in Kauai. If you are on a budget, I would recommend a B&B, even some offer kitchens! A couple to mention in the Poipu area are Hideaway Cove Villas, Kauai Cove, Surf Song, and Marjorie's Kauai Inn. All have websites...check google.
Old Sep 9th, 2004, 08:28 AM

A good source for condo rentals in Hawaii is www.vrbo.com. You will find a wide range of prices there. If you want to be oceanfront, you will probably pay at least $150 per night. Try Kuhio Shores for ocean front condos at a reasonable price. The complex does not have a pool, but it is oceanfront and every unit has a lanai with an amazing view. There is a small beach next door as well as the Beach House restaurant, which is one of the best on the island.