Search

Travel insurance headache

Search this Thread

Old Dec 27th, 2015, 08:47 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Travel insurance headache

Hi everyone,

I have booked a trip to South America in January and was just looking at travel insurance, but hit an unexpected roadblock. I am a permanent citizen and resident of the UK, currently residing in Northern Ireland, so naturally I looked at UK travel insurance policies. I found a few that look good, but they all state that your trip must begin and end in the UK. Like many people from Northern Ireland, I'm flying out of and into Dublin airport, which is only about an hour from my home, but which of course is not part of the UK, and this means I am not able to use any of these insurance policies. I am well travelled, but have not had this issue before, as I spent a long time living in London. Does anyone have any idea of what I can do?
Old Dec 27th, 2015, 09:43 PM

Received 26 Likes on 4 Posts
Must you fly in & out of the UK, or BEGIN & end there. It seems to me that a trip begins when you leave home, whatever your mode of travel. First leg train or car, second leg the flight. Is that not true?

If they insist, I suggest you consult a good travel agent, who, if they are good, will know how to solve this conundrum.
Old Dec 27th, 2015, 09:44 PM

Another thought, can you buy Irish trip insurance, if the British companies refuse your money?
Old Dec 28th, 2015, 02:38 AM
Original Poster