Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

Excursion through Mexico and Central America. Where to end?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 2nd, 2009, 09:36 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Next winter in the month of January i am studying abroad for a short term program that ends around January 21-25th. I want to be on my way towards Argentina where i need to be March 1, 2010.
I want to travel overland hopefully wih a friend but possibly by myselft through Central and southern mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica.

I hopefully am going on a separate trip to panama this summer so i want to fly out of San jose, costa rica into quito, ecuador. I would like to go to Colombia but i have somewhat conflicting reports about being able to fly into Colombia without a plane ticket out becuase of strict restritctions. Also i am somewhat concerned about safety in Colombia although i understand it has improved. I will then travel through south America to Argentina.

Anyway does anyone have advice is on about a 10-15day trek overland from Mexico City to San Jose, Costa Rica? Is this even possible? where should I stop? Are buses the way to go? How do i maximize my time?

Thanks!
Old Apr 2nd, 2009, 11:59 AM

Even with 15 days that really doesn't sound like fun to me - all your photos would be blurry shots taken through grimy bus windows or of the sketchy surrounds of the bus stations where you waited for your next ride. At the very least that's 5 countries and only 2 or 3 days per country; it will take that long just to make the bus connections through in some cases. Imo Guatemala is the gem of Central America and both Belize and Honduras offer great snorkeling and diving; maybe you could travel down into Guatemala for a week, either spending a week of blue water time in Belize enroute or hitting Honduras after, then flying from there to Quito. Just my 2 cents' worth...