Road trip stops

Old Jan 7th, 2018, 02:54 PM
dyt
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Road trip stops

Hey I'm a college student in from Springfield, Mass, and I'm planning to take a road trip from Alaska to Chile after graduation. I've never been to Central America, so I'm looking for some input to some locations I might add to my destinations list. As of now its Monterrey to San Luis Potosi to San Miguel de Allende to Santiago de Queretaro to Teotihuacan to Mexico City to Puebla to Villahermosa to Tikal to San Pedro Sula to Tegucigalpa to Leon to Managua to Granada to San Jose to Panama City. San Salvador and Guatemala City don't particularly appeal to me, so I planned a route which travels north of these two cities. Are there any great small towns, national parks, etc. that I might add to this route?

Thanks for your consideration,
dyt
Old Jan 7th, 2018, 03:17 PM

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post
Sounds like a great trip! I've driven nearly all of your Mexico route except only as far as Veracruz and not Villahermosa. Coincidentally, I'll be leaving tomorrow from Queretaro (where I currently live, previously San Miguel) for Teotihuacan, with later stops in Puebla, Oaxaca, Orizaba & Córdoba Veracruz. I've also driven from Monterrey to SLP on both sides of the Sierra Madre Oriental, plus some time in the Sierra Gorda, all of which fits a large part of your Mexican itinerary. So, the question I have is how much time are you thinking of (for Mexico), are you gonna sightsee or just try to cover as much ground as possible?
Old Jan 7th, 2018, 07:12 PM

For us the absolute highlight of Central America is the Guatemala highlands which you've left off your list. If you enjoy outdoor activities and are interested in contemporary Maya culture, I'd make it a priority - many consider the area the cultural gem of Central America.