Snakes in Costa Rica??

Old Jan 30th, 2004, 12:50 AM
Original Poster

Snakes in Costa Rica??

Okay, so I'm planning a trip to CR for August, but I'm a bit snake-a-phobic. I realize it's the rain forest and there are snakes; however, I saw this reptile special on the Discovery channel that freaked me out the other day. This guy was tracking down some of the most poisenous snakes in the world all over CR and even super poisenous sea snakes somewhere off the coast of Coco beach. So, my question is... has anyone had any real run-ins or problems with snakes on land or in the water? If so, what areas are the worst? I'd rather avoid any areas that are known to be "infested", if there are such places! Thanks!
~yes, I'm chicken
Old Jan 30th, 2004, 03:04 AM

You most likely won't see any unless a guide points one out. I have only seen 3 on my own and one wasn't poisonous. My husband and I have been hiking back areas for many years down there.
I think you will be very surprised at how "civilized" Costa Rica is. It is not all rainforest but the rainforest is very special and there is a lot.
Old Jan 30th, 2004, 05:22 AM

Hello,
I too am a snake phobic. I however live here, and have learned how to live as best as we can with them. When we first moved into our house, we had 5 baby fer de lances in here with us. But the builder of the house had no screen doors, screens, and lots of gaps in the construction. We also have a thatch roof, which just seems to invite critters in.
Snakes do not want to be near you. We keep the yard close to the house cut close to the ground so htere is no cover for them, we have dogs, so that has always been a concern. Also before I let them out, I try to look over the areas they frequent ot be sure I dont' see any snakes.