OSA:Hiking Shoes vs lightweight travel?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 17th, 2005, 05:39 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok, I admit it upfront, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to CR! I'm excited by all the repeat visitors on this forum, it has to be a very special place.

Our 1st trip is June 05. We will be day hiking and already own hiking boots, heavy buggers. Visiting Arenal, Dominical and OSA. For the flight to OSA need to pack light. (Not so easy with a 15yr girl in tow!) I am intrigued by the newest footwear- a cross between a Teva and a hike shoe. It does have the important closed toe and rugged sole. But fast dry and lite weight. Sneakers, though adequate, will never dry, right?
These Keen shoes have open sections so what about those nasty ants I heard about? Could we just wear sox to deter them or will they bit right thru? Sorry to be so helpless but I hate packing/hauling what I don't need.
Old Feb 17th, 2005, 06:03 PM

We got a long well on the Osa with regular tennis shoes (that we wore on the plane) and socks. True, getting the socks to dry is a real pain. We would rinse them in the shower (they do get a little muddy), roll them in towels to remove excess moisture, and find a sunny spot outside our cabin to lay them. On the days with a little sun, they dried pretty well. Inside the cabin, nothing dried.

Ants didn't bite through! But you do need to be very careful that you don't stop for conversation or to listen to a guide explain something without checking out exactly where you are standing. I got a few ant bites on a night hike when I stopped on a trail to listen to the guide. They didn't bother me for long, but if they had been those bullet ants. . . .oooh!
Old Feb 18th, 2005, 05:05 AM

I know what you mean, about hauling what you don't need.

We have never been in June when it is rainy, but it does seem to rain some nights when we have been in CR, which makes for slippery mucky trails.