Search

Mexico for 1 month, advice needed

Search this Thread

Old Jul 10th, 2014, 09:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mexico for 1 month, advice needed

Hello internet,

I am planning on doing a 1 month solo-trip around mexico. I will most likely fly in and out of Mexico city or Cancun as they have the most attractive airfares. I backpacked through nearly all of Central America last spring. I loved it but the more expensive airfare and the fact that I've been there already are discouraging me from going back, so I decided on Mexico.

I don't feel like rushing around too much this trip and would be happy to stay in one place for up to a week or so. I'm not interested in the resort towns and am hoping to avoid the most touristy areas. I've been to Tikal in Guatemala so ruins are not a priority of mine though I'd be happy to visit some it is not too far off my path.

Ideally I would like to get in some surfing (I'm a beginner/intermediate), maybe some scuba diving, though again not a priority, definitely some beach time, experience some Mexican culture and just chill out a bit. If you guys have any suggestions for towns/cities with lots to do and a good vibe I would love to hear them.

I hope to do this on a backpacker's budget of around 40$ a day, though I am willing to splurge when necessary (eg. Scuba). I would be traveling by bus, staying in hostels and eating street food whenever possible (much to the chagrin of my digestive system). I would love to hear your suggestions of places I should check out. Thanks in advance!!
Old Jul 10th, 2014, 11:00 PM
kja

You might want to look through the Moon Guide, Rough Guide, and/or Lonely Planet guidebooks -- you might be able to get them through your local library or bookstore. IME, these guides give good coverage of sightseeing options and opportunities for sports and other activities; they also generally provide a range of options for housing and food than span the price gamut.

Enjoy!