Costa Rica specific questions

Dec 31st, 2018, 01:33 PM
Original Poster

Costa Rica specific questions

Hello. I would be grateful if you can help me with the following. Sadly I do not speak or read Spanish and this is my first time in Central America, but I have traveled by myself elsewhere in the world and my overall travel common sense should be far better than my language skills!

1. I understand that the best way to get local cash is to use ATMs. Are there ATMs at the SJO airport and would it be wise to use them or should I look for a bank once I get into town? Or is there a bank at the airport by some chance?

2. I have been told that certain ATMs in Costa Rica do not charge any fees. Can anyone tell me where to find/ how to distinguish those from ATMs that do charge a fee?

3. I am arriving at SJO at around 8am, and need to go to Hotel Ave del Paraiso, 50m Norte de la facultad de Derecho de la UCR, San Josť, San Pedro, Costa Rica. I was told to take Taxis Unidos (orange taxis) and purchase my taxi ticket just before I exit the airport. I was also told that I'd have to negotiate the cab fare with the driver in advance. I'm confused. If I am buying the taxi ticket before going to the driver, what would I be negotiating with the driver exactly? Also, is there any other option, other than taking the taxi? train? bus?

4. Should I assume that the hotel is safe enough to leave my bag there and go explore the town? Needless to say I'd be taking my money, phone and passport with me wherever I go.

5. When possible, is it wise to use credit card over cash to save money/ get a better rate?