car insurance in CR

Old Jul 14th, 2007, 10:53 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
car insurance in CR

I am getting VERY nervous about my VERY INEXPENSIVE mid size SUV auto-w/a rental out of San Jose from Aug 4-Aug 9. The cost is $158.04 through Advantage. Everyone seems to love Tricolor, however they seem to be so much more expensive. AX is going to be my primary car insurance coverage. I made a call to them as soon as I was through reading comments on the forum. I believe I just have to add liability and that is the end of it. I was informed to decline whatever insurances are offered through Advantage Car Rental. The company told me that I had to have a letter from AX stating the above. Help! Doesn't anyone use their AX card to rent cars? Someone please tell me what I am missing! Thanks
Old Jul 15th, 2007, 08:06 AM

Welcome to the wonderful world of Costa Rica car rentals. My nemesis! I have been working in Costa Rica tourism for fifteen years, and I still pull my hair out over this one. There is a lot to tell.

Car insurance is a government monopoly, and their liability insurance is required by law. But all you can waive is the comprehensive coverage. Some companies will allow you to waive the comp coverage with CC coverage, and others won't. So it is best to check ahead of time.

It is important that you rent from a company that will accept this coverage. The amount you save by waiving the comp is not that much. But MOST credit card companies will pick up the deductible if you have a problem. This can be as much as $1500.00!

If you are not covered with a credit card, some companies also offer what they call "full coverage" for $10.00 more per day. This is actually not what we think of as full coverage. It is actually just something offered by the company. They will assume the huge deductible if there is an incident.