ATMS

Sep 9th, 2007, 03:44 PM
Original Poster

ATMS

Has anyone used the Atm's in Buenos Aires? Are they plentiful? Easy to use? I will be going on Friday and I usually use Atm's when I travel to Europe, but this is my first time in South America. Any advice on money changing?
Sep 9th, 2007, 04:31 PM

This question has been asked over and over.
Please ask the search feature to show you what has been said about atms in the Argentina forum and you'll get it all.
Whatever you do, don't sell any dollars at a place called "Global Exchange" conveniently located in our international airport. You should get about 3,15 pesos for each dollar you sell.
Have a great time in our country.
Sep 9th, 2007, 04:59 PM

Hi
Yes, we use ATMs and so do most visitors as well.

They are very plentiful..just about one on every block.

They are very easy to use.

When you arrive, you can change your money at the bank in the airport. The Banco Nacion (I think) is the name.

When you arrive in town ( about a 30 min taxi ride) you can go to a bank and hit the ATM..
BA is South America but it feels like any big city in Europe or the US when it comes to some things..

Have a good time in Buenos Aires
Sep 9th, 2007, 05:35 PM
Original Poster

Thanks! That's what I thought, but I'm getting mixed messages from friends who have been there.

I did do a search but my "atm's, Buenos aires" boolean search went no where. Must not have had the right words.

Thanks for your help and your advice. I'm generally a lurker, but read and make notes of everything y'all say! I'm excited about my first venture to Buenos Aires and South America!

I will be in Buenos Aires, with a side trip to Iguazu falls for 2 days and to Colonia. Between this forum and TA and your advice and the advice of other travelers, I feel confident I'm going to have a wonderful visit!

I'm so excited I'm practically vibrating! Working this week is going to be extremely difficult!
Sep 9th, 2007, 05:46 PM

Santander Rio
PBParibas
HBSC
and Itau