2 weeks in CR - tentative itinerary, please comment

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 16th, 2008, 05:12 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've read some great trip reports here, and have gotten some good ideas. We've decided to try Costa Rica for our summer vacation (not ideal maybe for CR, but as a teacher I take what I've got gladly!):
The only thing set in stone is our flight - Tues 7/22 till Tues 8/5, JFK to SJO nonstop on Delta.

My husband and I are early 30s, outdoorsy (enjoy hiking, kayaking, etc.) although not in the best shape these days, and generally stretch our budget in the lodging category in order to stay longer. I'm pretty sure we'll rent a 4WD for the majority of the trip. We've been to Belize, BVI, the Rivera Maya, Andalucia, Belgium, and camped through Italy and in Alaska - used to "roughing it".

Right now, my tentative ideas for the trip are:

2 nights near the airport to do a 1-day rafting trip on the Pacuare.

3 nights in Arenal (probably AOL, assuming the online lava map is correct about the direction of lava flow).

3 nights in Sta. Elena/MV - thinking about the new Rainbow Valley Lodge

2 nights near Rincon de la Vieja - probably Guachipelin, I'm really excited about the canyon tour and the mud baths!

2 nights on a beach in Guanacaste, not sure where yet. I'd like to be on the beach, where I can swim/body surf, relax (no nightlife necessary). We love to snorkel, but understand there's not great snorkeling on the Pacific coast.

1 night near airport? Our flight isn't till 3 pm, but doesn't seem wise to tempt fate. Maybe we can do a coffee tour or something in the morning?

So - if anyone has any general comments or suggestions for activities or other accommodations (we're hoping to keep under $80/night).