Your favorite destination

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 29th, 2008, 11:44 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a fiction writer looking to set a new book in one of three locations; Scotland, Ireland, or Wales. Can you tell me your favorite location and a brief explanation why you chose it?

Thank you
Old May 29th, 2008, 11:53 AM

Of those 3 it has to be Scotland. I was born in Wales, haven't been to Ireland and have no desire to do so and I love the remoteness and peacefulness of the Scottish countryside.
Old May 29th, 2008, 12:32 PM
LJ

I am going to vote for Scotland, too. More scope-from the grittiness and sophistication of Glasgow to the placid small towns of the northern coasts, the urban 'trendiness' of Edin. and the remote Shetland Islands-thats a lot to work with...
Old May 29th, 2008, 01:22 PM

It's a daft question.

The setting of a novel should be determined by character and plot, and how they might be developed in a particular setting -- not by strangers' sentimental attachments to places. If I tell you why I like Connemara, is your work going to benefit greatly from that? And if you tell me that it is, then I would be suspicious of the quality of your work.
Old May 29th, 2008, 06:39 PM
Original Poster

Thank you to all 3 of you for your responses.

In answer to Padraig, your comment about setting is quite correct and I thank you for your insightful words.

Thankfully that is not why I posted the question.

I was simply curious as to which of the three countries would garner the most interest from people who are no doubt more learned about the areas than I am, thereby helping me decide which direction to proceed with my research.

The responses from highflyer and LJ are exactly what I was looking for. No personal experiences; just general descriptions.

Old May 29th, 2008, 07:25 PM

Two excerpts from my trip report of a June, 2005 Trip to Ireland: