Yet Another Ireland Itinerary to Critique

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 1st, 2006, 10:01 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Going to Ireland 20th - 28th October. Currently only have our flights booked. Into Cork and out of Shannon. We have never been to Ireland before. (Please no suggestions to change the flights - this was delegated to DH - who booked them on the wrong day and chose not to go to Dublin! - I am holding my tongue on this matter!) We are NZders so are OK on mountains and narrow roads driving on the left.

Anyhow this is my first attempt at an itinerary - I will have to start booking accommodation this week particularly for the last section as this is a bank holiday (and start of school holidays) in Ireland.

Friday 20th - arrive in Cork, pick up car. Drive to Blarney Castle. If we are good for time will go to Cobh - otherwise the rest of the time in Cork. CORK

Saturday - drive N71 via Clonakilty, Drombeg Stone Circle, Beara Pennisula. Finish with a walk in Killarney NP to stretch legs. KILLARNEY

Sunday - Drive Ring of Kerry, Trip through Gap of Dunloe and visit Ross Castle. KILLARNEY

Monday - Drive around Dingle Pennisula. DINGLE

Tuesday - Drive to Cliffs of Moher + ??? DOOLIN

Wednesday - Drive The Burren. Perhaps the Dunguaire Banquet in the evening. Stay near GALWAY.

Thursday - Kylemere Abbey, Climb Croagh Patrick, Connemara NP GALWAY or WESTPORT

Friday - Drive south or take a loop south east?? Any ideas?? I could just let DH play golf. sigh.

Saturday - Fly out of Shannon late

Questions:
Is the Sunday too ambitious?
I am fairly vague on the Connemara NP - this forum did not have an much information on this area? Any suggestions.
Do you think I can fit the Rock of Cashel in anywhere? I want to see it but it is kinda out of the way.
Any ideas for the last section??