Working in Spain?

Dec 12th, 2002, 10:40 AM
gabby

Working in Spain?

I am a 36yo doctor in the US and want to live and work in Spain, not necessarily in medicine. Any suggestions?

Dec 13th, 2002, 03:18 PM
Jean Valjean

Getting legal work status in the EU is kinda difficult... Unemployment rates (specially at a professiona level) are very high, so a company has an overwhelming amount of qualified candidates for any position, without the hassle of arranging work visas.

Would you consider setting up a business? That may be easier...

Dec 13th, 2002, 04:02 PM
gabby

To Jean Valjean (or anyone else with experience in Spain)- do you know of any US citizens that have managed to set up a business in Spain? I was considering starting some sort of wine-region tour company, but truthfully I would do any old thing to live/work in Spain.

Dec 14th, 2002, 03:07 AM
xxxx4

Go visit for a couple of weeks and get all your answers right "from the horse's mouth". That is, if you are serious about it. I would start by contacting the Spanish Embassy and getting information on working resident status and requirements, including permits to operate a business (what kind of business?). Check also with madridman.com. He is an American that knows Madrid very well, and could help you with recs for business/business people.

Dec 15th, 2002, 03:44 AM
Ben

Hi Gabby: Check out www.ricksteves.com
Go to Graffiti Wall. Then to Planning and Packing. Then click on Getting a Job in Europe.
Some ideas from other people...

Dec 15th, 2002, 06:25 AM
G.B.

Gabby: