What's Paris like in July?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 2nd, 2007, 07:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just returned from a wonderful week-long visit to Paris. We were lucky, and have very good weather for Feb. I am a teacher, and have the summers off, and am thinking of returning in July. What is Paris like in the summer? Is it very crowded and hot, or is it just as glorious as it is in the winter? Thanks in advance for any of your experiences and perspectives
Old Mar 2nd, 2007, 08:59 PM

It will be hot (so an air conditioned hotel, apartment, or B&B is recommended), and there will be lots of tourists compared to February. I think the crowds may detract from your experience.

Why not spend a few days in Paris, then head off to the provinces -- perhaps the Brittany coast where it will be cooler?
Old Mar 3rd, 2007, 04:52 AM

I've been to Paris several times in March and a couple of times in July and there is a noticable difference in the amount of tourists in the very touristy places. Like the main street of Ile St Louis, etc. And probably the lines are a little longer at the major sites. But I wouldn't let that stop you from going in July. Paris is a big city and it has a city feel all the time, so a few extra tourists doesn't make that big a difference. You plan your time so that you visit the more crowded areas early in the morning, etc.

Since you've been once and now know your way around a bit, conisder renting an apartment, perhaps in a less busy area than most people stay in. Try rentparis.com but there are several other agencies and lots of threads here on apartment renting.