Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What is the cost of Living in Galway, Ireland?

Aug 12th, 2005, 04:58 AM
Original Poster

My husband and I are considering moving to Galway, Ireland so that he can get his masters degree. We currently live in St. Louis, United States.
We are having a difficult time getting a good idea of how much it really costs to live there for two years. Also, we wanted to find out whether we would be ellible for medical care while we were there because we would be residing there for such an extended period of time.
Another concern would be the availability of a part time job, possibly for both of us. Is it difficult for an American to find work, and how much should we expect to get paid?
Oh, I forgot to say that I am currently a high school teacher... though I am sure that I will not be able to get a job in my specific field (I teach public speaking), I am wondering if there may be a related field that I could find a job in.

I know this is a little different than a normal request, but the fodorites seem to be the best hope for help on the web.
Any information would be helpful at this point.

Thank you,
Amy McQuiggan

Oh, we are planning our trip for next fall.
Aug 12th, 2005, 05:12 AM