Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

What do you wear to Easter Mass in Paris?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29th, 2008, 11:40 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a newbie when it comes to European travel. I will be heading to Paris for the first time in March of this year. I will be there for Easter sunday (7 days total) and want to attend mass at Notre Dame. Is there a special dress code? dresses? Head coverings? Can anyone let me know? I would really appreciate it. Thanks!
Old Jan 29th, 2008, 12:12 PM

Forgive me for sounding unChristian, but are you going to Mass or a fashion show?

No Catholic church has a dress code (OK, they do have a fetish about keeping women's legs hidden in Italy. But who's ever associated Italy with anything other than box-ticking hypocrisy?)

Apart from Italians' fear of arousing male passion, at every Mass - except for serious State occasions or posh weddings - I've attended in any European cathedral or papal basilica, people wear what they feel comfortable in. If, in your case, that means jeans or T-shirts, I think you'll find God really has other things to worry about (though given how early Easter is this year, you might get a few goose-bumps), and you'll find plenty of other people dreessed just like you.

Incidenta;lly, this bizarre fantasy that there's an 11th, sartorial, Commandment crops up so often here, I assumed some kind of heresy had taken over the US chuurch, and there were clothes police at every American altar rail. So I was torn between surprise and gratification a month or two back to discover that at the main Sunday Mass at St Patrick's, New York, communicants were dressed just as scruffily as they at Westminster Cathedral or St Peter's , Rome.