Search

Vienna 3-day itinerary

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2nd, 2016, 08:54 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vienna 3-day itinerary

Greetings!

I have decided on a last-minute trip to Vienna. I will be arriving the evening Sunday August 28th, and leaving mid-morning Thursday September 1st. I've already booked my flight and hotel. I will be traveling solo. This is my first time in Vienna.

I have 3 full days in Vienna (Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday). My interests are art and architecture. I'm a mental health counselor, so the Freud tour is a must. While I am interested in Vienna's music, I'm going during the symphony and opera off-season so I will not be focusing on those this trip. Also the horses for the Spanish Riding School are off elsewhere during my stay, so I will catch them another time. Here is my first draft itinerary.

Monday:
St Stephan's cathedral - 8am
Hofburg Palace/Imperial Treasury/Butterfly House - 9am to 12:30pm
Context Travel Tour - Intro to 1st district - 1:30pm to 4:30pm

Tuesday:
Karlskirche - 9am
Belvedere Palace - 10am
Context Travel Tour - Freud - 1pm to 3:30pm
Albertina Museum - 4pm
Vienna State Opera - 6pm

Wednesday:
Context Travel Tour - Ringstrasse - 10am to 12:30pm
Schonbrunn Palace - 1:15pm
Leopold Museum - 3:30pm
Prater - 5pm
Kunsthistorisches - 7pm

I would like to see Hunderwasserhaus, but am having trouble trying to fit it into the schedule.

I would love any feedback about its feasibility, order, etc.

Holly
Old Jul 2nd, 2016, 09:37 PM

Received 26 Likes on 5 Posts
On Wednesday you seem to be backtracking a bit, and perhaps shortchanging your sights of interest. Schönbrunn to Leopold will take ~30 minutes on the U-Bahn, so, assuming you've purchased your ticket online beforehand you've ~2 hours to tour the palace (which takes an hour), the gardens, maze, labyrinth, and walk to the Gloriette. That's quite a bit.

Accounting for travel time to Prater, you'll have about 75 minutes at Leopold.