Venice Photography

Jun 17th, 2010, 05:59 PM
Original Poster

Venice Photography

I am an avid amateur photographer who loves to take pics- typical landscapes or city sights but also the everyday life of the places I visit. I am very interested in finding out where to take pictures and when is the best time for lighting for the big places in Venice. I will be there one night and one day so i have to plan my scouting carefully. I definitely want to get up early and try to get a pic of st. Marcs square. Does anyone know of varoius places that show st. marcs but potentially in a different aspect? Also, aside from Rialto Bridge, what other placesare must haves for taking pictures to capture the essence of Venice? Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!
Jun 17th, 2010, 06:35 PM

You will get great photos if you go to Burano, one of the little islands nearby.
Jun 17th, 2010, 06:37 PM

Part of the charm of Venice is the constantly changing light, including at night, including at high noon, so there really is no one best time.

I don't know how long you plan to be in the city or when you are going, but if you find the crowds seriously interfering with your photo-taking, taking a boat to other parts of the lagoon might work for you, especially if you like the idea of photographing the traditional lagoon culture, which has largely disappeared from the touristic core of Venice:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/201...blic-trasnport

If you haven't got the time to leave the city, walking in the areas of the Arsenale and the Isola San Pietro will get you closer to a more everyday side of Venetian life.

However, the essence of Venice today very much includes the cruise ships and the group tours, and souvenir stands and the English signage.
Jun 17th, 2010, 06:41 PM

I think this album shows what can be done -- by a much more talented photographer than I!
http://www.portlandbridges.com/00,5D...ice-italy.html
There's an accompanying trip report here, posted by "Andrew".