Search

Trip review:Venice,Florence,Siena, Rome

Search this Thread

Old Aug 15th, 2005, 05:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trip review:Venice,Florence,Siena, Rome

Hi,

I am new to writing to this forum so if I do something not standard please forgive me. Reading this forum had helped me plan our vacation so I thought I would give back and tell you how it went. This was my husband's and mine second trip to Italy. We had both gone before we met each other, he staying in Venice for a month and me in Siena a month. Our itinerary started on July 30 and went until August 10. We had 4 nights in Venice, 1 night in Florence, 3 nights in Siena, and 4 nights in Rome.

Venice: We stayed at Hotel Mercurio which is on a main canal and near to San Marco square. We chose this hotel because it is where my husband had stayed. We had a view of the canal and enjoyed hearing both the gondalas paddle through and the musicians singing. As far as the hotel, it is a bit older in accomodations, the AC wasn't too cold, and one of the mornings there was no hot water. We had wonderful service as the same people still work here from eight years ago and my husband remembered them. Even if one didn't know them, they are very helpful with getting water taxi times, restaurants, or just talking about the local life.