Trenitalia, purchasing tickets on line

Jul 9th, 2005, 10:18 PM
Original Poster

Trenitalia, purchasing tickets on line

Help needed to novice here! I was told that I could purchase our Trenitalia tickets 3 months ahead of travel date of Sept 28 2005, which would have been June 28, but when I go to their site (English) the BUY button is not available. I've tried emailing them with questions, but no answer. Can someone, (Ira?) shed some light? THX
Jul 9th, 2005, 10:49 PM

Katerbug - You cant purchase tickets until you have 60 days or less from your travel date.

Tom
Jul 10th, 2005, 05:11 AM

I too am a novice and purchased a ticket this week for travel on September 6. It is 2 months in advance - butif you are travelling on Sept 28, you can purchase on July 29.

You will also need to register and receive a password prior to purchasing. This only took me a minute - but you could do that a day in advance and have the password ready. Also, when it asks you what carriage/seats numbers you want -just leave that blank because you don't know the configuation of the train.
It also works best on a high speed connection.

Linda
Jul 10th, 2005, 05:28 AM
eri

We simply went to the train staion in Rome, purchased tickets and got on the train. If you don't travel in the high season, I don't see any reason for advance purchasing.
Jul 10th, 2005, 05:09 PM
Original Poster

Well, TRSW, that explains it! My travel agent (that I'm not using cuz I enjoy doing all the planning myself) told me 90 days! Would you consider Sept 28 still "high" season?
Jul 10th, 2005, 05:26 PM

Katerbug - As for late Septmeber being "High Season", I cant really tell you. I will not make my first trip to Italy until mid October. Sorry.

Tom
Jul 10th, 2005, 09:49 PM