Traveling on a budget

Old Jan 20th, 2007, 10:05 PM
klf
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Traveling on a budget

My first trip to Paris in 1999 was with a tour group. This time I am doing it myself. I am planning a trip to Paris at the end of May and will be taking my 2 teenage children. My budget is around $1,000 per person, including airfare. Does anyone have any ideas (websites) of where to get flight + hotel deals in this price range? Also, what is the best method to get to the hotel from the airport? By metro? I have never used the metro before. Any advice appreciated.
Old Jan 20th, 2007, 10:17 PM

How long are you planning to stay? $1000 per person, including airfare, may be hard to do if you're planning to stay for any length of time.

My daughter and I are planning to go for a long weekend in late March/early April when I visit her during her internship in Ireland. I've been reading up because budget is definitely a huge concern for us too. Today I picked up a copy of Frommer's "Paris on $95 a Day". Judging by what I've read so far, I'd highly recommend it.

I feel very lucky to have gotten an airfare from O'Hare to Dublin of $401. I don't know where you're flying from, but in May, I suspect your airfares will be more. So that's really going to eat into your budget of $1000 per person. Are you including only airfare and hotel in that? Or is that including meals, etc.?
Old Jan 20th, 2007, 10:23 PM
klf
Original Poster

Thanks for the advice. I am travelling from Cincinnati (CVG) and the $1000 budget is only for hotel and air. I am wanting to fly out the last full week of May and stay for 5-6 nights.
Old Jan 20th, 2007, 10:24 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Where are you flying from? Makes a big difference re airfares.

And how many days will you be in Paris? Makes a big differnce re hotel costs.
Old Jan 20th, 2007, 10:26 PM

Oh - we were posting at the same time.