Train Tickets - Earlier Depart OK?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 15th, 2006, 03:36 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I arrive at London Heathrow and have booked a train from Euston to Manchester at 15:00 on Sunday. It's quite possible that I may be able to make a noon train (if all goes well at customs). My saver single ticket is on Virgin Trains. The earlier train is the same line. Does anyone know if I'll have any trouble getting on the earlier train without some sort of reticketing or penalty? I can't seem to find that on their site. Thanks.
Old Sep 15th, 2006, 04:10 AM

ttt
Old Sep 15th, 2006, 04:23 AM
Original Poster

ttt??
Old Sep 15th, 2006, 04:27 AM

ttt = to the top
It's a way to keep your post on the top of the heap.
Old Sep 15th, 2006, 04:34 AM
Original Poster

Hi JaneB
I happen to be a jane b myself. I'm new to this. What is the effect of keeping a post ttt and why that reply?
Old Sep 15th, 2006, 04:45 AM

Only you can really know the answer.

"Saver" is a brand name used by some railway companies for not-very discounted tickets. Usually, that brand indicates some flexibility, and if that's the name of the brand you've bought, you'll be able to take most trains. But when you bought the ticket, the terms should have been made clear on the site.

If you're struggling with the Virgin site, go to nationalrail.co.uk, and enter a query for this journey on a Sunday in late October or mid November. After the schedules come up, follow the link for prices. A list of brandnames for prices will show: click on yours to see the relevant T+C. You need to do this for some time in the future so that all the brands will show.

If your ticket is valid only for a specific journey, you might be able to get away with the dumb tourist act. If not, they'll sell you an upgrade on the train.
Old Sep 15th, 2006, 05:12 AM