TRAIN help for Syllytexan's European Vacation

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24th, 2005, 07:10 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Before I get too far into this post I want to thank everyone for all the great information in this forum. It has been so helpful in getting me to this point. We are a party of 4 thirty-somethings on our first trip to Europe, and I bravely undertook the task of planning this adventure. It is my first time out of the states, and I can't wait!

Here's what I've got so far:

Arrive London Heathrow via AA
London: 3 days and 3 nights
Tentative lodging: Holiday Inn Kensington Forum

Train to Paris
Paris: 4 days and 4 nights
Tentative lodging: Hotel Castex

Night train to Venice
Venice 1.5 days and 1 night
Tentative lodging: Casa Rezzonico

Train to Rome
Rome: 2.5 days and 3 nights
Tentative lodging: Hotel Des Artistes

I would appreciate any comments or advice in regard to the accomodations I have chosen.

Most importantly, I'm still having trouble figuring out how to purchase train tickets. I have found the schedules thanks to earlier posts, but I'm still confused as to whether I should purchase tickets before I arrive in London. Does it make a difference?

Best to buy the Eurostar ticket from London to Paris while still in the states?

Overnight train from Paris to Venice...which website is the best to purchase through?

Train from Venice to Rome...book ahead through trenitalia? or buy while I am there?

Old Mar 24th, 2005, 07:29 PM