Tips on Getting Lower Summer Airfare?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 27th, 2003, 05:30 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, everyone! I'm studying in Europe this summer, and my brother and sister-in-law are interested in meeting me in Rome for a week in mid-August. I know airfares to Europe are supposed to be higher in the summer, but everything I've seen so far for August is almost twice the amount I expected to pay. <BR><BR>Does anyone know if it's possible to wait until the last minute to get a good deal on summer airfares from, say, Houston to Rome? Or should they just resign themselves to paying around $1200 per person? I don't know if it makes a difference, but my brother is also in grad school part-time (maybe eligible for a student fare somewhere?) Any other tips you might have would be great. <BR><BR>Thanks!
Old Feb 27th, 2003, 05:38 PM

Sometimes you can do better by flying roundtrip in and out of London, then on to Rome from there. We've done it this way many times and saved quite a bit of $$$. You could also try one of the consolidators mentioned on this forum. One I've had good luck with in the last few years is TRAVAC, based in New York. Too, with the world situation what it is, airfares may change dramatically at any time. You may want to wait a few weeks and see what happens. Good luck, and have a wonderful time!
Old Feb 27th, 2003, 05:48 PM
Original Poster

Thanks, Weadles! Actually, I just checked out TRAVAC, and unfortunately they seem to be declaring bankruptcy. Doh! Any other consolidators come to mind?<BR><BR>I know I'll be flying to Rome from London on Easyjet (gotta love Easyjet). I'll keep an eye on London fares. If they drop way below those to Rome, a hop to the continent on Easyjet or Ryannair should be fairly cheap. Thanks, again!
Old Feb 27th, 2003, 05:49 PM