Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2007, 10:22 AM
A2
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Switzerland

Author: cire3
Date: 01/10/2007, 10:23 pm
My wife desperatly wants to go to Italy. We are thinking of September, she wants the usual suspects, Rome, Florence, Milan, Venice. I want something a little less well known, but still city like with great architecture and night life. After a little bit of research I came up with a Zurich-Milan-Florence-Rome itinerary that seems to make us both happy. Does anybody know what the train travel would be like for such an excursion, how long, scenery etc.? Any reccomendations of travel agencies to help plan such a trip? As you can probably tell, I am new to this, neither one of us has been to Europe before.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Author: Jean
Date: 01/10/2007, 11:03 pm
Putting Zurich in the mix adds a very different time and distance dimension to your itinerary. Would your time in Switzerland be only in Zurich before heading to Italy? If so, would you consider flying between Zurich and Milan? This would save you one very long train ride. Or is the point of adding Zurich the train ride through the Alps?

Many people travel to the "usual suspects" (Rome, Florence, Venice, Milan) because of the relatively short distances between destinations and easy, frequent, non-stop train options.

If your trip is for two weeks or less, I would drop either Zurich or Rome. In any event, I would not drop Venice if you're interested in great architecture.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Author: swandav2000
Date: 01/11/2007, 02:16 am
Hi cire3,

Just to give you the Swiss rail website, www.rail.ch. You can use the site to plan all your trips in Switzerland and Itay (just for Florence use the Italian spelling of Firenze because there's a Geneva suburb called "Florence&quot.

s

Date: 01/11/2007, 10:50 am