Search

Swiss_NItaly Logistics

Search this Thread

Old Jun 16th, 2005, 04:03 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Swiss_NItaly Logistics

Hello All,
I received some great advice a couple months ago as I initiated my plans for a trip to Switzerland and Bellagio. Now, as the trip draws closer, I am back to inquire about more specific details of travel to this region. From my questions, you will realize I am basically a novice traveler to Europe. I apologize in advance if my questions are a little foolish.

So, here it goes.

Rail Pass Purchase: After doing some investigation, I think the most cost-effective choice for us is the Swiss Card. My concern with the Swiss Card vs the Swiss Pass is (1) We are traveling in Aug. Are the lines going to be long? If so, I am willing to pay the extra money for the convenience of avoiding them. (2) Is English spoken well enough that I will easily be able to purchase tickets? (3) Another benefit of the Swiss Pass is that I can use it in both Luzern and Montreux on the city transportation. How does buying tickets for buses work with a Swiss Card? Do you need exact change?

Bernina Express to Bellagio: After arriving in Tirano (post Bernina Express trip), we are heading to Bellagio via train to Varenna-Esino and ferry across. Upon reaching Tirano, I am guessing that ATMs will be readily available to obtain Euros, right?

Bellagio_Villa Balbianello: Is it easy to find a tour to this location or should I plan in advance? I believe the Villa is only open one day that we will be in Bellagio. I definitely don't want to miss seeing the gardens here.

Berner Oberland Hiking: Since we will only be here a few days, we need to set our priorities on what we would like to do. If you could only do one hike which would you choose: First to Bachalpsee or Murren to Grutschalp with a stop off at Trummelbach falls? How long would each hike take? I think the Murren hike is 1 mile, how far is the First hike?