Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Swiss Rail Pass, Flexi or Swiss-France Pass?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 3rd, 2006, 12:29 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I'm a student who'll be travelling to Europe in September. My basic itinerary is london-paris(2)-switzerland(8)-venice(2)-slovenia(2-3)-croatia(7)-sarajevo?. I want to spend about 8 days in Switzerland, and was wondering if you could give me advice on the finer details of the Swiss Pass, Swiss Flexi, or Swiss-France Pass.

1) The swiss passes give free rides on postal buses and museums, + all the local trams/cables that the Swiss-France Pass does not include. My question: How useful are these benefits? Will I be using the buses, such that having the Swiss Pass would be worth it, or are the fares so cheap that the pay-as-I-go method is best?

2) I will be based out of certain areas for 2-3 days and so in theory i wouldn't be using a "travel day" if I got the flexi. However, this is Switzerland, and during those stays, I'd probably take a ferry, or ride a bus. It say online that free rides require the use of a travel day. If this is so, what is the value of the Flexi over regular Swiss Pass, since I'd need to use a "travel day" each day for local transportation/to take advange of a freebie?

-8 day Swiss Youth Pass: $198
-5,6,8 day Swiss Flexi $248,$284,$330
-Eurail France-Switzerland Pass:
9,10days $390, $363

Either way, I'll need to hold a Pass with France so that when travelling to Paris on Eurostar, and to Switzerland from Paris, my tickets won't be so expensive.Though, if you more experienced travellers out there really feel that the single country Swiss Pass is better, I could get the France-italy pass and use it (4 day Flexi is $205).