Search

Study Abroad: Salamanca vs. Sevilla

Search this Thread

Old Jun 23rd, 2019, 12:04 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Study Abroad: Salamanca vs. Sevilla

Hi,
I'll be studying abroad in Spain in Spring of 2020 for a semester; I think I've narrowed it down between Salamanca and Sevilla, but would love input on any other cities in Spain as well. I've looked at the other forums and have done some extensive research, but I figured I'd start a thread with my own personal interests/questions.

I am studying abroad to get a better grip on the Spanish language. I hope to come out of college with a Spanish minor or (hopefully) major. While this is a primary reason for studying abroad, I am equally as excited to be immersed in the culture. Here are a few things about me that may help when writing tips on which city may fit me better. I know that both are incredible, and hopefully I'll have a chance to visit both while studying abroad.
  • I'm a young college student - at my university, one of my favorite things to do is just grab a coffee and sit in the sunshine in front of the library steps and watch people in between classes.
  • I love to go out at night and have fun things to do with people my age. I don't want to be somewhere that doesn't feel "young."
  • Being outdoors is a favorite thing of mine - whether it be hiking, people watching in a courtyard, etc., I really enjoy the outdoors.
  • History is important to me - I look forward to experiencing cultural traditions, museums, etc.
  • I'm from the beach (home and university) which is why I'm choosing not to go to San Sebastian or elsewhere coastal. I am interested in traveling outside of whatever city (and country) that I choose, so having access to easy/cheap transportation is also a consideration, although not a priority.