Study Abroad in Florence?

Oct 25th, 2005, 01:13 PM
Original Poster

Study Abroad in Florence?

Hey Everyone,
I'm a college student looking into studying abroad sometime next year. I've been fortunate to be able to travel to Europe three times and across much of America. I've been to Florence twice, but a while ago, and am wondering what people think about studying there. Is it too American/touristy? Is there another Italian city people suggest? Thanks a lot!
Brendan
Oct 25th, 2005, 01:27 PM

I just came back from Florence today. Great city, but too crowed and touristy. Yes, it's too american. I have never seen so many of them in such a short time in Europe. Expensive and loud, if you want to party it may be o.k. for you. To study I can't think of many places worse. Any German town is a 1000 times better in that respect.
Oct 25th, 2005, 01:45 PM

Hi Brenlowe!

I don't know if this helps but my daughter-in-law spent one semester in Florence many years ago and loved it. My friend's daughter recently did one summer in Urbino and wanted to stay in Italy for the rest of her life. Neither one mentioned tourists when talking about their experiences.

Good luck and keep us posted on your decision.
Oct 25th, 2005, 02:30 PM

Florence is only crowded and touristy if you limit yourself to the tourist center, a small part of the city. It is full of art and history. It is a great hub for visiting other parts of Italy as well.
Oct 25th, 2005, 02:42 PM

I just spent the Spring Semester studying in Florence. I had the most amazing time there. Truth is, no matter where you study arboad, you will have the best time.

Florence has a large student population, which appealed a lot to me. It was very nice having American students to go out with. It can be a big scene if you want that, a certain club each night of the week, or it can be more laid back going to other bars.