Student budget trip to Barcelona

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 19th, 2005, 05:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Im studying in Europe and will be traveling to spain for six of my 12 day vacation next week. I'd love to find a cheap but decent place (to split between four girls) and get some ideas on what to see-do there for those who aren't exactly on a normal vacation. Our main goal is to see the sights, eat some authentic foods and check out some places where mostly locals hang out. We will also be there on halloween and could use ideas on what to do for that as well!

grazie mille
Old Oct 19th, 2005, 06:20 AM

My son spent five days in Barcelona in spring of 04 with three friends when they were all 19. they stayed at Pension Marie-Luz, address: Calle Palau 4, Fax: 933173463.
We had looked into hostels, etc/wasn't finding one that made parents comfortable, so one of them found this pension.
Good location, the kids loved the owners, it was clean, they had one room for the four of them w/ plenty of room, a sink in the room and a bath down the hall. Also a nice "common room" and inexpensive. They thought it was a nice lcoation b/c it was very close to las Ramblas, teh main street, and near train/etc but tucked away in a side street with some charm. Maybe this will work for you. If not, you can try hostels.com which is what we started on, but we booked ths one thru a fax and got our answer w/in the day. Son also said owners were very helpful in steering them to good but cheap eats in quaint places as well as popular and helpful w/ where to go and what to do. They also let them use fax when one needed to contact parents about something and said if that didn't suffice, they could use phone. nice people.
Old Oct 19th, 2005, 08:22 AM

Here are a couple web sites to check out to see what's available:

http://www.hostels.com/en/es.ba.html
http://www.madridman.com/barcelona/b...nahostels.html