Ston or Orebic

Jan 31st, 2009, 01:46 AM
Original Poster

Ston or Orebic

We plan to rent a house for a week in September 09 looks like our choices are narrowed to Ston or Orebic Anyone have a recommendation as to which is a better location for beach, wine, and travel to nearby islands? Ston seems to be good because of its proximity to Dubrovnik and Mljet, Orebic because of its proximity to Korcula Don't know much about either town.
Jan 31st, 2009, 07:03 AM

Peg:
My mother was born in the small village of Orebic and I have been travelling there since 1971. It is a lovely small town which is just across from the island of Korcula. The beach in Orebic is at the southern end of town, called Tristenik and it is pebbles not sand. Peljesac peninsula is known for the Mali Plavac grape which produces Dingac, Postup and several other wines. There are 2 ferry boats from orebic to Korcula during high season. One will carry your car and the other is just passengers and it does run about every hour.
Getting to Mljet is another ferry ride about 1 from Korcula. Jadrolinija does not service this route on a daily basis in September.
Ston is a 1 hour drive from Dubrovnik. Driving in Dubrovnik takes guts as the only road rule they have here is "There are no rules." It's going to get very old driving back and forth in 1 week. If you want to rent a house near Dubrovnik, take a good look at Cavtat or Mlini. With a car you can drive to the Peljesac peninsula for a full day of wine tasting and enjoy the sights of Dubrovnik.

Dobrodosli
An American Living in Dubrovnik
Jan 31st, 2009, 10:25 AM

I would say Ston would give you more choice of travelling to other places - but the really important question here is will you have a car?