Southern Spain or Sicily

Old Jul 5th, 2018, 03:59 AM
Original Poster

Southern Spain or Sicily

I am new to Fodor's Forums and I am just starting to think about our family's next summer's vacation.

We just returned from our amazing 18-day trip to Greece, where we spent 9 days driving through the South Peloponnese, 7 days in Rhodes and 2 days in Athens. If anyone wants to know any further information about the areas we visited, please let us know.

We are considering two places for next June's trip, either Southern Spain (including Madrid) or Sicily. We have been to Barcelona and have also travelled to Italy twice before (Rome and areas north of Rome).

I know it is early, but any advice would be helpful.

Thank you.

Jen
Old Jul 5th, 2018, 05:48 AM

Who are “we?” Children? A couple? Interests?
Length of time available for trip?
Old Jul 5th, 2018, 07:31 AM

It would be lovely if you share any and all information about your trip to Greece. It will bring back nice memories for some, provide information and inspiration for others!

DH and I loved Sicily. We used public transportation to travel from Palermo to Siracusa to Sorrento. The amazing mosaics in Montreale were a highlight. We also enjoyed the beach town of Modello. Others have driven successfully although most avoided driving in Palermo.

I absoutely fell in love with Madrid mostly because of its 3 art galleries.

Please advise of your general preferences and the ages of your children. Also, search for Sicily and Madird on Fodor's---you'll find scads of info.
Old Jul 5th, 2018, 08:48 AM

My vote goes for southern Spain but mid-summer would be quite HOT - but I assume Sicily would be hot too! Maybe you could combine it with a few days in northern Spain and Madrid?
Old Jul 5th, 2018, 09:51 AM