Southern France wine questions

Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 12:53 PM
twk
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Southern France wine questions

I'm doing most of the planning for our group of six that, next June, is going to Beynac-et-Cazena in the Dordogne for a week, followed by three nights in Provence (probably St. Remy), and three nights in Nice, before taking the TGV up to Paris for a final 3 nights.

I'm not a wine drinker, but some in our party are, and even if they weren't, I don't think you could make a trip to rural France without seeing a wine stop or two of some sort. Unfortunately, not being a wine expert, I really feel a little bit out of my depth in trying to line up something that will be fun for the group. I would love to get some input from those with more knowledge on the subject.

From what I've read, I'm aware of three wine growing areas that we either defnitely will be traveling to, or close enough by for a daytrip that might be of interest: (1) the region around Bordeaux; (2) the region around Cahors; and, (3) the Cotes du Rhone. Am I on track, or am I way off base on thinking these are the possiblities. If I've missed a region, let me know. Of these regions (or the ones I've overlooked), are there any particular sites or activities that you would reccommend for a group that will include a range of interest in wine (ranging from love to drink it, but don't know much about, to, not really a big fan of wine)?

Any input is appreciated.
Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 01:08 PM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
I would say without a doubt that the Cahors wine cellars are the friendliest, because they are the least pretentious. If you have no experts in your group, I would definitely recommend visiting places there. In those other regions, a certain bit of snootiness is the norm, either among the vintners or the visitors who will starts throwing around years and micro-crus just to show what experts they are.
Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 01:58 PM