Search

Scavi closed - Which catacombs?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 14th, 2007, 03:07 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Scavi closed - Which catacombs?

Dearest Fodorites,

You got me all syched up about the Scavi Tour and I sent a request for a reservation. But...unless something changes, it appears from the response I received acknowledging my request, that the tour will not take place on the days I will be in Rome. They have not updated the Vatican website with 2007 closures, but I would imagine that the info on the email is accurate due to the proximity to Easter.

With all of that said...I'm not good at short and to the point like so many of you are...Ira comes to mind with his light bulb...which catacombs would you recommend. I caught a portion of a Rick Steves TV segment discussing Rome and he mentioned that there was at least one catacomb in particular that was the most famous.

Please help me out here.
Old Jan 14th, 2007, 07:19 PM

The Scavi are in Pompeii, Herculenum (not correct spelling). The Rome catacumbs are in the Appian Way (near and around Circus Maximus), difficult to reach by bus, where persecuted Christians hid.
Old Jan 14th, 2007, 07:23 PM

The Scavi (excavations) tour in Rome is of the tomb area beneath St. Peter's. Those are different from the large catacombs mentioned above.
Old Jan 14th, 2007, 09:02 PM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
The Vatican website list Easter and Easter Monday as closed. I don't know if these were the days you were trying to book the scavi tour.

Here's a link about the catacombs - location, hours (always subject to change), and admission prices.
http://www.santasusanna.org/popeVatican/catacombs.html
Old Jan 14th, 2007, 10:55 PM