Rough Draft: Ireland Itinerary

Old May 4th, 2006, 08:29 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rough Draft: Ireland Itinerary

Day 1 -- Arrive Dublin. Night Dublin
Day 2 -- Dublin. Night Dublin
Day 3 -- Pick up car. Glendalough & Kilkenny. Night Kilkenny.
Day 4 -- Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle, Hore Abbey. Night Kilkenny.
Day 5 -- Jerpoint Abbey. Head to Killarney
Day 6 -- Ring of Kerry
Day 7 -- Dingle Penninsula
Nights 5, 6, 7 Killarney or area
Day 8 -- Bunratty Castle, Adare
Day 9 -- Cliffs of Moher, The Burren
Day 10-- Drive East. Clomancloise along the way. Night north of Dublin.
Day 11-- Sites north of Dublin: Fore Abbey, Monasterboise, Newgrange, Knowth. Night near airport.
Day 12-- Fly home.

We may have one additional day. If so, I was thinking the best use would be either in Dublin or in the King of Kerry area. Opinions?

This is my first attempt at an itinerary. I am looking for feedback on if it is realistic and if we are planning too much or too little in general. We enjoy castles, churches, abbeys, and other historical sites. We prefer smaller towns to cities and have experience driving on the left

Thanks.
Old May 4th, 2006, 11:29 AM

Very good first attempt. One thing that would be good to know is what time of year you are traveling.

You have a very doable itinerary. With an extra night, I would consider two nights in Dingle and two in Kenmare (as opposed to Killarney), especially if during high season. Im not sure where you are staying on nights 8-9. I wouldn't recommend Adare if that's what I'm reading. I'm guessing you are picking somewhere else.

From Kenmare you could easily get to the Beara Peninsula which is much less crowded. Another nice option is the Gap of Dunloe tour. in Killarney National Park. Some people thumb their nose a bit at the RoK, but I think the south half is beautiful. The internal area is lovely too.