Renting Car in Ireland ultimate cost ?

Dec 20th, 2009, 08:18 AM
Original Poster

Renting Car in Ireland ultimate cost ?

This is my first time posting and I have read through a few threads but am not really finding what I want ...

My questions is about renting a car in Ireland. I got a quote from Budget Car Rental and we are getting a quote of E113 I believe for the 4 days we need it? When I get to the payment details it says the following is included: Price includes all compulsory Insurances, Government Tax, Unlimited Mileage and 24hr Breakdown cover.
A standard airport surcharge of Euro € 28 will be added to the cost when you pick up your car from Dublin Airport.

Is this price pretty accurate? I have never rented a car before even in the US. It seems extremely reasonable - I just don't want to be surprised with add on fees, etc. So, wondering if I will be. Any input on renting cars in Ireland, what to expect, etc would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Dec 20th, 2009, 09:55 AM

You need to ask specifically what type of insurance will be provided. Often this is very basic and does not cover things that you would want to be insured. Unfortunately Ireland is one of the countries in which american credit cards don't provide free insurance coverage.
Dec 20th, 2009, 10:58 AM

"all compulsory insurance" is not full coverage. I suggest digging a little deeper into the budget website. My experience when rented a car in Ireland is to expect the insurance you'll need/want to be equal to or greater than the advertised rental rate.
Dec 20th, 2009, 01:12 PM