Recommended trekking in the Dolomites

Old Apr 20th, 2005, 03:01 PM
Original Poster

Recommended trekking in the Dolomites

A friend & I plan to go trekking in the Dolomites for 2 weeks beginning at the end of May 2005. We realize this may be a little early but are hoping to find some green valleys & beautiful views. We do not want to take the Vie Ferrate routes, however. Can you recommend villages and/or valleys that we can use as starting points? And also inexpensive pensions etc? I am studying Italian & hope to practice my Italian, but my friend is fluent in German, so language is no problem. Also: we plan to use public transportation from Bolzano. Grazie Mille!
Old Apr 20th, 2005, 03:52 PM

The Alpi Suisi area is some of the best hiking in the Dolomites. I would stay in Ortisei or Castelrotto--both are great. Find the Val Gardena web site for more details.
Old Apr 22nd, 2005, 12:52 PM

Ditto on the Alpe di Suisi area. I was there in very late May a couple years ago and while some of the higher elevation hiking trails were still either muddy or snowy, this green and gorgeous huge meadow had great views and nice trails (and some fabulous apple strudel). In Castelrotto at this time of year we found a zimmer (room) in a house when we pulled into town. The owners spoke to us in German only, so your friend's linguistic skills will come in handy.

Other areas, notably around Cortina, are VERY dead at this time of year.

Didn't take public transportation, so can't help with that. If you can find a possibly out of print book by the Goldsmiths, I think just called "the Dolomites," it is the most detailed guide in English that I've seen on the area.

Have fun!
Old Apr 23rd, 2005, 12:25 PM
Original Poster

Bobthenavigator & annabelle2: