Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Recommendations for weekend destinations in W Germany/Switzerland?

Jun 2nd, 2002, 06:58 PM
Jennifer

Hello Everyone,

I am a college student and will be attending a study-abroad program in Paris during the month of July. I am trying to plan a few weekend trips to (relatively) nearby destinations, figuring that this is probably a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see as much of Europe as I can. This will be my first time in Europe, and I have little command over any European languages besides English and a smattering of Spanish.

I have three weekends to work with, and I thought that the best course of action would be to spend one weekend in Germany, one weekend in Switzerland, and one weekend in Amsterdam/Brussels. I will be travelling by train, so I am looking mostly into going to major cities. What do you think is the most visit-worthy city in Switzerland? What do you think is the most visit-worthy city in Western Germany (ideally no more than six hours' rail from Paris)?

Thank you all for your help! I appreciate it very much.

Sincerely,
Jennifer

Jun 2nd, 2002, 07:05 PM
Jennifer

I forgot to mention:

The cities that I am trying to decide between in Switzerland are Bern, Geneva and Zurich.

For Germany I am thinking primarily of going to Frankfurt.

Thanks again,
Jennifer

Jul 3rd, 2002, 03:01 PM
Sue

While I am heading to Switzerland for the first time next week, I know about Germany and where I'm going in Swiss.
I did NOT enjoy Frankfurt as I had other German cities. It is idustrial, corwded and filled with American-looking titty-bars. I loved Heidleberg, Berchtesgarten, and Munich. Any Bavarian location is ideal, in my opinion.

For Switzerland, I've heard that Geneva, Grindlewald and Lucerne are very nice. Further out to the east are St. Moritz and other Alpine resort towns.

Jul 4th, 2002, 02:28 AM
Jan

Jennifer,