Question for frequent flyers

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 24th, 2006, 11:22 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to this game, and I am wondering if someone could tell me what my expectations should be in this situation:

Last December I was booked on US Airways from my home (MGW) to PIT to PHL to CDG, then back again. However, the flight from MGW to PIT was cancelled due to mechanical problems. I was rebooked to fly US Airways from MGW (a later flight) to PIT to IAD, then on Air France to CDG, arriving three hours late, and without luggage for two days.

I have received the miles for all of the US Airways flights I had, but due to the rebooking, I lost the 4000 or so miles I would have gotten from PHL to CDG. Is it unreasonable for me to expect them to credit my account for some miles in compensation for what I should have received?
Old Apr 24th, 2006, 12:26 PM

Something similar happened to me before. I wrote the airline, giving clear details of what happened. I was a "extra-premium" 1,000,000 mile customer. I got back a pretty obnoxious letter that they were under no obligation to give me miles if I ultimately flew on another carrier but "just this one time" they would. I say "similar" but mine was the case that the flight was UNDER sold so they cancelled it at the last minute and sent us all to another airline. Because of the last minute change and because I was not a frequent flyer on the other airline I was "flagged" for every possible search. And I lost my free first class upgrade which had been confirmed 72 hours in advance. And, while it was technically an international flight (to Canada) it was barely 500 miles (well I did insist and they gave me 1500 miles because with my "extra premium" status I was entitled to earn triple miles). Still, it's worth a try. P.S. it was not US Air but American.
Old Apr 24th, 2006, 12:37 PM