Provence lavender forecast

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 31st, 2013, 07:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Does anyone have any insight into when the lavender is expected to start blooming this year? We are planning to visit from June 14-19 and would love to see some lavender, but I know it has been a cool and rainy spring in Europe this year.

Also, are there any particular areas within Provence where they tend to bloom first?

Thanks!
Old May 31st, 2013, 09:44 PM

NYC -

Lavender blooms first at lower altitudes. So if you'll have any chance at all to see some (not too likely given the cold spring we've had) your best bet is in the valley between the Luberon and the Mont de Vaucluse (around the villages of Roussillon, St. Saturnin, etc.) .

Alternatively, as a general rule, seems like the lavender int he Drôme Provençal tends to bloom earlier than around here, so maybe that could be an idea. I'm not an expert regarding the Drôme, but maybe contact one of the tourist offices there and ask before driving up.

- Kevin
Old Jun 1st, 2013, 05:55 AM

We were in Provence for the last 2 weeks of June in '10. I believe that they had a cool spring that year too. On June 30 the lavender was mostly green - turning to blue/purple in some places. This was around Sault. In the Luberon (where Kevin mentioned) there was a wonderful field just south of Gordes where the lavender was in full bloom - but again this was in late June.

We've made about 8 trips to Provence in June, and I don't recall ever seeing massive lavender fields blooming as early as June 19 - except when they've had an exceptionally hot spring - and that was only twice.

Stu Dudley
Old Jun 1st, 2013, 06:00 AM

We were in Provence the third week in June several years ago. The weather was cool and the lavender was not in bloom in fields. We saw lots of blooming lavender in small sgardens in individual plants but not in fields.
Old Jun 1st, 2013, 07:49 AM