Pre-paid SIM card at Munich Airport

Apr 20th, 2013, 08:52 PM
Original Poster

Pre-paid SIM card at Munich Airport

Hi,

I will arrive at Munich Airport on 27 April 2013 at 0600 Hrs for a 2 week trip to Austria and Germany. I would like to buy a SIM card at the airport for voice calling. Is there a place I can buy them at the Airport?

Since all the hotels I stay in will have a wifi, I am assuming the cheapest way to call / be in touch with family / friends will be using skype right? Sorry to be asking such a basic question, but I am new to both skype and using a hotel's wifi for this purpose.

Thanks in advance to all who respond.

Best regards

Mohan
Apr 21st, 2013, 03:01 PM

This shop should have something for you:

Capi
Location: Terminal 2 Level 03 / Terminal 2 Departure (Level 04) / Terminal 2 Departure (Level 04) / Terminal 2 Departure (Level 05)
CAPI has all kinds of electronic articles, ranging from telecommunication equipment (mobiles from all providers) through computer and photography accessories to CDs and DVDs.

You can get cheap mobile rates to call abroad with some SIMs. I have had good experiences with Lebara but I don't know if they will have that brand of SIM at the airport - if they do I recommend them. In Austria you can get a cheap SIM from Billa (which is everywhere) called 'yesss', and I have had good experiences with them too.

Lavandula
May 4th, 2013, 07:56 AM

You will get many sim card service provider companie in the Germany. They provide many services like 2g, 3G, 4G and low call rates also.Tsim provides all sim card services in all countries with reasonable rates. So I suggest Tsim for you.
http://tsim.in/index.php
May 4th, 2013, 08:05 AM

A gotcha in buying a SIM card in Germany had been the requirement to have a local address at some of the stores. I was not sure whether the store did not want to bother with dealing with tourist or that was the stated company policy.